Hangzhou Expat
dominic1992

persian man says hi, needs help with job

hey everybody im new here on x visa i badly need to find a job, i am an english teacher with a 500 hour tefl degree from ITD college in Canada, two years experience with recommendation letter from the biggest IELTS teaching center in west of iran,can anyone help? 

I am not a racist, but your nationality may be a problem for you to get a teaching job. 

and sorry to say that teacher's appearance is more important than teaching ability here.  anyway you can find the contacts of schools at Teaching in Hangzho forum

Good luck, Dominic

• Upvote 1

Yes buddy, what Jake wrote is very true.

He is not being racist he is just telling you the truth and it is not applicable just for English teaching, it is true here for most of other jobs.

Here origin of your passport and your appearance counts much more than your merit and ability.

I am not an English teacher so i am not sure about that area but at least in my working sphere i have noticed that because of this mentality here a lot of under qualified people get chance instead of people with good qualification and merit.

• Upvote 1

I'm somewhat new here myself Dominic, but I get the impression that these east coast cities have a good number of native English speaking westerners, and reasonable or not that's what the locals seem to want, though I think they're becoming more reasonable (with your credentials I'm sure you can do a much better job at ESL teaching than 90+% of native speakers, but they haven't seemed to realize that here). I hear it'd be easier for you to find work in western cities such as in Sichuan province, who knows they might pass you off as an American for the parents to see (I hear they do that with Russians at least).